Lung Cancers are classified based on Histology and/or Biomarker profile.

1. Classification by Histology- Based on types of lung cells seen under the microscope, we have two types of lung cancers

  • Non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC)
  • Small-cell lung cancer (SCLC)

2. Classification by Biomarker Profile: Based on the cell mutation called "Driver Mutations", the types of lung cancer are:

  • Adenocarcinoma Driver Mutations
  • Squamous cell Driver mutations 

Lung cancer staging is a way of explaining where the cancer is located if it has spread and if it has spread to other parts of the body. 

Lung cancer is staged using the TNM system. The overall stage of cancer is determined using the TNM system after the cancer is given a letter or number to characterize the tumor (T), node (N), and metastasis (M) categories. 

  • T Defines the original (primary) tumor.
  • Defines whether there spread of cancer to the lymph nodes in that area.
  • Defines whether there is spread of cancer or metastasis to other organs or distant parts in the body

TNM classification- "Stages using TNM classifications are designated by a number, zero (0) through four. For one through four, the Roman numerals I through IV are used. The lower the stage number, the less advanced the cancer is and the better the outcome is likely to be; the higher the stage number, the more advanced the cancer is."

Click here to learn more on "TNM Lung Cancer Staging System"

Reference- 1.Types of Lung Cancer. (2014, July 7). LUNGevity Foundation.

‌2. Lung Cancer Staging. (2014, July 18). LUNGevity Foundation.